Journals - A journal is made up of issues and volumes. Each issue contains around 10-15 individual articles, each on a specific topic and there are normally 3-5 issues per year. At the end of a year the print copies of the issues used to be bound together into a single volume. By referring to the page numbers, issue and volume of a journal you are able to find individual articles. Most journals specialise in a particular area of research and only publish articles in that area e.g. Journal of Behavioral and Experimental Economics.
Articles - Academic articles are how most new research is produced and shared with the world. One of the most important aspects of an academic article is that it has been peer reviewed. Peer review means that the article has been read by other academics in the same field as the authors and they found it to be a credible and important piece of research.
Journal Databases are online collections of journals that are easy to search. They can contain journals in one subject area e.g. EconLit contains Economics material, or they can be multidisciplinary and contain journals from many different subject areas e.g. Scopus contains material on most Social Sciences subjects, including Economics.
Because different databases contain different types of material, you should choose the database that is suitable for the type of information you want to find, or you can use Library Search, which searches across many of our databases.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.
JSTOR provides searchable back issues of scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects. JSTOR does not include the last few years of most of its journals, so for recent and current issues, use the Journal A-Z or Library Search.
Searches full text of academic articles, books and book chapters. Use the Lean Library plug-in or set UEA under Library Links to generate links to UEA resources. Check any books in Library Search to see whether we have copies.
Working papers are not peer reviewed but are often written by esteemed academics and give a good overview of the current trends in particular academic areas.
NBER is a private, nonpartisan organization based in the USA that facilitates cutting-edge investigation and analysis of major economic issues. It disseminates research findings by posting more than 1,200 working papers and convening more than 120 scholarly conferences, each year.
CEPR Discussion Papers are intended to disseminate research about the European Economy quickly. They may have been presented at conferences, but will not yet have been published in journals. All Discussion Papers published since 1999 are available to download.
Library Search - to find books and articles
Databases A-Z - to find specialist resources
Journals A-Z - to find an individual journal
Reading lists - find the key readings for your module
Business Source Complete is the industry's most used business research database, providing full-text for more than 2,300 journals, including full-text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
Gale Business Insights is an easy to use database with company, industry and country information, journal articles, case studies and more. Aimed at undergraduates, it contains SWOT analysis for many major companies and a comprehensive glossary of business terms.
