UEA Library: Education: Key resources

Key Databases

British Education Index This link opens in a new window
The British Education Index is a database of journal articles from all areas of education from preschool to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database indexes international journal articles in the subject of education. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to over 5 million reports from over 25000 organisations. You can search by keyword, browse by theme or topic, or find table-based datasets
Upon logging in with your institutional email address, you will be automatically connected to the module with full access from onsite or off-campus locations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
SportDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window

SPORTDiscus with full-text is an EBSCO database covering sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports-related disciplines. It contains over 240 full-text titles.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to a wide range of journal articles in full-text, as well as an abstract and indexing service for additional journals and e-books. Particularly useful for those interested in education, health and social care.

Explore the full range of databases available at the UEA

A-Z Databases

Additional resources

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Child Development & Adolescent Studies is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children to the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed.
Cite them right This link opens in a new window An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA) The IOE UK Digital Education Repository Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families.
The International Research Foundation for English Language Education
A useful collection of topic reference lists.
National Foundation for Educational Research Find research reports, policy papers, practical guides, classroom materials and professional development tools available here.

Oxford Bibliographies: Education This link opens in a new window Expert bibliographies on topics related to Education. Note that UEA Library may not have all the items in the bibliography, so you will need to check if we have access or request that the Library obtains it.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES offers access to the full-text of more than 90 landmark journals in behavioural science, psychology and related fields including education, nursing, business and neuroscience. This collection includes all APA published journals plus those from the Canadian Psychological Association and English-language journals from Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods contains information suited to all levels of researcher, from undergraduates starting their first projects to senior academics. Content includes dictionary and encyclopaedia entries, book chapters, full books, journal articles, and the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (Little Green Books) and Qualitative Research Methods series (Little Blue Books).
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. All the source data is clearly marked and available, and the data can be downloaded in a variety of formats for use in your work.

Multimedia resources

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window A national TV and radio recording and streaming service for UK higher and further education institutions. Includes over 2 million recordings of films, documentaries, news and radio programmes from 75 channels, with the ability to request upcoming programmes and create playlists and clips.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It includes Teachers TV, the acclaimed in-classroom video professional development website.

Newspapers and Magazines

At UEA, you have access to millions of pages of newspaper and magazine content. We have a guide to help find and use these.

Newspapers and Magazines Guide

Times Educational Supplement

You now have unlimited access to Tes magazine subscriber content as part of EDU’s new subscription.
You will be able to read breaking news; in-depth analysis; world-leading teaching and learning guides and research reviews; and investigations. You will also be able to watch our videos and listen to our podcasts.
All you need to do is create your profile at tes.com using your UEA email address (if you already have an account with a personal email address, you will still need to create a new profile with your UEA email to access Tes magazine).
Once that is done, you can visit the Tes homepage and start reading our exclusive news, analysis, teaching and learning guides and research reviews (which you can navigate to via the headings at the top of the page).

Times Higher Education Supplement

UEA has institutional access to Times Higher Education (THE) online. To get access, you need to register with your UEA email address.

Press Reader

Press Reader makes lots of newspapers and magazines available in a browsable format. For more details on how to access this resource, please see this Sway

PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader allows you to browse, read, and download more than 7,000 newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in 60 different languages.
TO LOG IN: Click on the person icon (top right), select Library or Group, search for East Anglia, Click on Open Athens. Log in with UEA credentials.

Referencing tool

Cite them right This link opens in a new window
Cite Them Right online referencing tool provides answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Examples are given in Harvard, APA, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver referencing styles.