UEA Library: Business: Market reports, company and industry information

Market reports, company and industry information

Market reports info

Use industry and company information databases to get facts and statistics to back up the arguments you make in your assignments.

Market reports and statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. Remember to reference the original source of the data, not Statista! Statista UEA User Guide.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides information on 10,000 companies, 2,000 industries and 50 countries. Includes company and industry reports, market research, case studies, business news and financial deals. MarketLine UEA User Guide.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Academic: Consumer and market research in the following sectors - food, drink, beauty, technology and general retail Mintel UEA User Guide. Mintel Trends: Analyses changes in culture, society, brands and markets across a wide range of areas.
Passport (Industrial System) This link opens in a new window
Passport is a market research database. We have access to the 'Industrial System' which includes sector reports and data on various industries around the world.

Company information

There are a number of factors involved in finding out information about a company:

Is it a publicly traded/listed company or a private company?
- Public companies have to disclose far more information than private companies
Where is it registered?
- For small companies this is usually one country but for large companies there may be multiple entities in different countries.
What does the company say about itself?
- Check the company website or Google search the company name with the word investor to get to the version of the website where financial returns and annual reports are held e.g. Apple's investor website
What do other people say about the company?
- Use newspaper and magazine articles to read the latest news on the company

Our subscribed resources will help you to quickly find out some information about a company but you may want to investigate government company databases for official financial returns.

UK Company Data

FAME This link opens in a new window
Database containing information on over 2 million public and private companies in the UK and Republic of Ireland. Fame UEA User Guide.

Companies House - Gov.uk
Search for information on UK companies and find out how to set up a company in the UK

International Company Data

Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business Insights is an easy to use database with company, industry and country information, journal articles, case studies and more. Aimed at undergraduates, it contains SWOT analysis for many major companies and a comprehensive glossary of business terms.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the industry's most used business research database, providing full-text for more than 2,300 journals, including full-text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
Kompass Easybusiness - On campus access This link opens in a new window
A business directory offering information in various activity sectors: news, RFQs, business cases, press clippings and useful links.
Kompass Easybusiness - Off - campus access This link opens in a new window

EDGAR - US companies information
Information and data on US companies from the US government website
Ministry for Corporate Affairs - India
Indian government company registration and data portal

Help

Need help finding high quality resources or managing information? Please email me: d.broadbent-yale@uea.ac.uk
New to the Library? Our Library Essentials course covers all the most important points to get the most out of our services
The First Assignment tool helps you to find sources, read effectively, write well and create excellent essays and assignments

Useful Links

Library Search - to find books and articles
Databases A-Z - to find specialist resources
Journals A-Z - to find an individual journal
Reading lists - find the key readings for your module
Past exam papers