IBSS includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951 in the social sciences. It incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and there are links to full-text where available.
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides information from over 500 journals.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.
As the most reliable full-text source for economic research, this database offers full text for hundreds of journals including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo. In addition to full-text coverage, the database contains indexing and abstracts for economic journals.
A core resource for anthropology courses of all levels, this two-volume collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
The role of the traditional ethnographer is changing as the perspectives and epistemologies of indigenous peoples have taken on central significance in the discipline, challenging earlier representations and implicit “us versus them” constructs. In order to create a platform for indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives, we have dedicated the third volume of the ethnographic film series to indigenous filmmakers.
645 Videos
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to over 6.6 million reports from over 25000 organisations. You can search by keyword, browse by theme or topic, or find table-based datasets.
You will need to register for access with your UEA email address. View the Privacy Policy.
PLEASE NOTE WE WILL NO LONGER HAVE ACCESS TO THIS RESOURCE AFTER 31 MARCH 2025.
Please contact impact@uea.ac.uk if you have a query.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data. Includes 22 statistical databases including OECD Main Economic Indicators.
Full text E- Book collections covering Leadership; Marketing ; Social Science; Business; Economics, Politics, Environment and Law. Including Encyclopaedia's.
JSTOR provides searchable back issues of scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects. JSTOR does not include the last few years of most of its journals, so for recent and current issues, use the Journal A-Z or Library Search.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available.
Multi-subject collection of e-books which can be browsed, read online or downloaded to a PC. Access is also available to titles not currently owned by UEA. These may be browsed and requested for purchase by the library.
A national TV and radio recording and streaming service for UK higher and further education institutions. Includes over 2 million recordings of films, documentaries, news and radio programmes from 75 channels, with the ability to request upcoming programmes and create playlists and clips.
SAGE Research Methods contains information suited to all levels of researcher, from undergraduates starting their first projects to senior academics. Content includes dictionary and encyclopaedia entries, book chapters, full books, journal articles, and the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (Little Green Books) and Qualitative Research Methods series (Little Blue Books).
Major reference work covering all areas of social and behavioral sciences including psychology, anthropology, international development, economics, education, geography, health, history, social work, sociology and business.
This encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years. It contains concise explanations of events and larger social movements, biographies of key people and summaries of major uprisings and protest movements.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition contains over 2,000 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists.
A cross-searchable online reference collection, featuring full-text content from over 1,000 reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Contains over 3.5 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos) and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopaedias and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. All the source data is clearly marked and available, and the data can be downloaded in a variety of formats for use in your work.
PressReader allows you to browse, read, and download more than 7,000 newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in 60 different languages. How to log in: Click on the person icon (top right) , select Library or Group, search for East Anglia, Click on Open Athens. Log in with UEA credentials. You will then be able to create bookmarks of your favourite publications by clicking on the + icon top right, and create your own channel.
Large database of current news sources (newspapers, magazines etc). You can search across the full collection or use Publication Search to find a particular title eg The Times. There are over 700 UK newspapers
New users should go to the registration page (https://myaccount.economist.com/s/login/SelfRegister) and fill in their details using their UEA email address
An email verification will be sent through to this address, which you will need to verify.
Once verified you will be lead back to Economist.com where you will see a pop up with the UEA logo, this pop up will have links to the Economist app, newsletters and events.
The Economist has content from the print edition published since 1997. To view articles, right click and open in new tab/window.
You will need to register for access with your UEA email address. View the Privacy Policy.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global holds details of millions of dissertations and theses from around the world. In August 2022 UEA upgraded from the abstract and index version to the full-text version (containing more than 3 million full-text)
Featured Resources:
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to over 6.6 million reports from over 25000 organisations. You can search by keyword, browse by theme or topic, or find table-based datasets.
You will need to register for access with your UEA email address. View the Privacy Policy.
The Library Helpdesk is your first point of contact for queries about using the library building, booking study spaces, accessing electronic resources and finding and borrowing print books.
I can provide more in-depth support - if you need help, please do get in touch!
Email Grant.Young@uea.ac.uk
