UEA Library: Statistics: Home

Welcome

A wealth of statistical information is available online. The links below highlight both the key data sources available through UEA and important online datasets that are freely available.

Please see the Computing Sciences and Mathematics guides for students of statistics within those schools.

First Assignment

First Assignment
Got your first assignment and not sure where to begin? The fantastic new First Assignment resource has been put together by the Library and Learning Enhancement Team to support you when you are starting your first project, essay or report!

Print statistics in the UEA Library

Print Statistics Guide
This guide will help you decipher the rows of print statistics on Floor 02 of the Library. We hold a large amount of historical material which will complement any digital research you are doing.

International Development Statisitics

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Very detailed statistics and infographics based on sustainable development goals, as well as country profiles
UN Development Programme - Human Development Reports
Visualisations and data from the UN Development Program's Human Development Reports
Migration Data Portal
Access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally.
World Bank - Data
Data, visualisations and documents relating to international development

Health and Social Care Statistics

NHS Digital
Search for data produced by the NHS
Office for Health Economics
Provides authoritative resources, research and analyses in health economics, health policy and health statistics in the UK and internationally
Cancer Research Statistics
Statistics and information on cancer incidence, mortality, survival and risk factors in the UK and local areas as well as links to global cancer websites

Podcasts

Image from Flickr user Matti Mattila under licence: CC-BY

BBC Radio 4 - More or Less
A fascinating programme that focusses on fact checking statistics in the UK news and finding out the truth behind the numbers.

If you know of any other good Statistics themed podcasts then email me and I can add them to this guide.

Image from Flickr user Heather under licence CC BY-NC-ND

Key resources for UK and Local Statistics

There are a huge number of websites that provide statistics online. Make sure that you are using a reputable site and speak to your tutor if you are unsure about how to use a particular data set in your work.

National Statisitics Online
The UK Government's home for official statistics, reflecting Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level. Includes summary stories and detailed data releases.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics, including census data, and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
UK Data Service
The UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data resources
Norfolk Insight
Norfolk Insight is a locality-focused information system providing data and analysis for neighbourhoods in Norfolk and Waveney

Open data

Wikidata
A free and open knowledge base that can be read and edited by both humans and machines.
Google Public Data Directory
Searches publicly available datasets from around the world.

Data Search Engines

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search.
Zanran
A search engine for charts, statisitics and data.

International Statistics sites

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data. Includes 22 statistical databases including OECD Main Economic Indicators.

World Bank DataBank
Open access data on global trade and development indicators including health, gender, education, migration statistics and more.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences in fields such as education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and others.

Dictionaries and reference works

Image from Flickr user Chris Dlugosz under licence CC-BY

Whether you are starting a new piece of research or wanting to revise a particular area, reference works and dictionaries can be a useful resource at different points in your studies

Statista glossary of statistics
Quick definitions of many statistical terms and techniques

Credo Reference
An online reference collection, featuring full-text content from hundreds of reference books
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopaedias and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Academic Librarian - Business and Economics

Doug Broadbent-Yale

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Working times: Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday 09.00 to 17.00

Topics: Business, Management and Accountancy, Economics, Statistics

Research methods

Sage Research Methods
NEW! Ebooks and resources to answer your quantitative and qualitiative research methods and statistics questions

Statistics by Continent

Eurostat
The statistical office of the European Union
Africa Data Portal
Created by the African Development Bank this site gives granular information on a huge number of indices in countries throughout Africa
Asian Development Bank - Data Library
Datasets, dashboards and data stories focussing on Asian countries.

As well as these large organisation datasets, you can also find an individual country's data using a web search engine or by using the Google Public Data Directory

Country factbooks

Statesmans Yearbook
Includes reliable information on countries, states and dependencies. Covering key historical events, international organisations, population, international trade, industry, international relations, tourism, economy, climate, social statistics and more.

CIA World Factbook
A comprehensive website based factbook for quick reference information on 267 world entities

Market and company data

Statista
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. All the source data is clearly marked and available, and the data can be downloaded in a variety of formats for use in your work. Statista UEA User Guide and Statista glossary of statistics terms
MarketLine
Provides information on 10,000 companies, 2,000 industries and 50 countries. Includes company and industry reports, market research, case studies, business news and financial deals
FAME
Fully searchable database containing detailed information on public and private companies in the UK and Ireland.
Fitch Ratings PRO
Fitch Ratings PRO is a replacement for BankFocus and contains financial information on banks, as well as Fitch ratings and ESG information for many global industries. The web version provides 10 years of historic data. Please contact your tutor for more information on how to use the Excel add-in to access 30 years of historic data.

Statistics: Home