Westlaw |
Lexis+ |
|---|---|
An introduction to Westlaw Edge 2024.Watch now to get an up to date demo of the platform.NOTE: first login you will be prompted to create a OnePass account. You do not have to use your full or real name if you don't want to but you should use your UEA email address.
ADDITIONAL TRAINING AND SUPPORT
|
An Introduction to Lexis+ 2024.Watch now to get an up to date demo of the platformThis recording will also be available throughout the year in the 'Training and support on your legal databases' section of this page.
BITE-SIZE VIDEOS |
As a Law or Criminology student you will need to navigate a range of different materials, as well as books and articles you will need to find primary law such as Case materials and legislation.
Overviews of understanding UK Cases & Legislation including Acts, SIs, local Acts/SIs:
Westlaw Edge and Lexis + are your two key legal research platforms for finding legislation, cases and more: You can access these platforms by searching for them by name in the library search A-Z database tool or via the quick links in the training & support section below.
Westlaw and Lexis are used in legal practice so take the time to train up on each using the training provided in the sections below and make sure to mention your proficiency on your CV!
NOTE: On your first login you will be prompted to create a OnePass account in order to access the resource. You do not have to use your full or real name if you don't want to give this information out but you should use your UEA email address.
Training and support:
Training and support:
An Introduction to Lexis+ 2024
NOTE: Lexis Tax content can be found in the ‘practice area’ of Lexis+ under tax’.
Your Customer Service manager for Lexis+ products is Zainab Raufy, Zainab can be contacted at zainab.raufy@lexisnexis.co.uk if you would like to book in for further training on the platform.
BITE-SIZE VIDEOS
EXTRA SUPPORT FROM LEXIS
The UEA has access to some specialist Law ebook packages. The titles in these packages will appear in Library Search, however, it can also be useful to search and browse the packages directly.
Law Trove: 200+ top law textbooks. To learn more about signing in and using the resource please visit the Law Trove log in help pages Make sure to sign in using the institution sign in option to the left of the screen on the home page. For training to get the most out of Law Trove visit the platform training pages to sign up to one of their term time webinars.
Reference and legal commentary services.;There are a range of Encyclopedias and dictionaries available in the library and online, here is a;list of some of the key ones
You will find a wealth of expert commentary and reference materials embedded in the your key legal databases Westlaw and Lexis. Westlaw books Provides access to electronic versions of;more than 300 law books.
Oxford legal research library (OLRL) offers four collections of key law titles
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations provides a comprehensive directory of the standard abbreviations for English-language legal publications, plus major foreign-language titles. Search by abbreviation to find the full title, or by title to find the correct abbreviation to use in your own references.
