In addition to the wider library resources and support highlighted in this guide, there are dedicated Criminology tools and materials available to you. Your lecturers and tutors will inform you of the key materials you need throughout your course in your lectures and on your reading lists, however, this page spotlights some valuable tools and resources for you to explore.
Access Law Trove Criminology collections for a range of Oxford University Press Criminology titles which are really useful for wider reading and deeper understanding.
An EBook collection of Social Science textbooks from SAGE
You have access to the Oxford Bibliographies Criminology Bibliography.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
When you feel confident using library search you can start adding to your search process by looking for journal articles in specialist social science databases. While these databases help power and feed into the results in library search they are worth investigating individually as well as they have extra search functions and also help surface abstracts and articles not yet held by the UEA
Here are some of the key platforms for Criminology which you may want to investigate first:
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation. There is a lot of help and training support for this platform via the help button on the platform home page.
A multidisciplinary bibliographic database that covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently abstracts over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. This database is particularly useful for research at the intersections between social science and health information.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals. You can find dedicated training videos on PsycINFO on the PsycINFO training blog.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
We currently have a yearlong trial of Scopus AI. You can access it via the AI tab on the Scopus Platform. If you are off campus will need to use the ‘sign in via your organization’ option on the site for access. Its technology is like Generative AI’s such as ChatGPT, but it is trained on a smaller managed set of data and content and results are underpinned with a detailed knowledge graph of works, individuals and concepts to minimise inaccuracy. Not all of Scopus is currently covered in the AI tool. The product currently indexes back to 2013 and does not learn from full texts, only abstracts and citations. Elsevier refer to it as a small language model as opposed to a large language model. There is some humanities coverage but Scopus generally reflects STEM and Social Science fields. To find out more check the supplier’s product webpage and for a good overview and for more details check the Scopus Libguide
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.
