Box of Broadcasts (BoB) provides a huge archive of recorded TV and radio for use within education. You can access it by selecting University of East Anglia as your home institution and then using your normal UEA sign-in.
We are building up playlists for movies in BoB organised by year of release. You can browse these lists below, or if you're after a particular film and not sure when it was released, use the IMDb to look up the date first. We currently list more than 8,000 films. There will be many others in BoB, so use BoB's search to see if the film is there (and then let us know so we can add it).
Click on a year/decade to view Playlist:
Other UEA film lists
(access films with UEA log-in):
Open Films online:
Note that some of these films may still be in copyright in UK so exercise judgement in downloading and using recordings
There are tens of thousands of books and journal articles related to film, TV and Media Studies available via Library Search. Here are some other resources you may find useful.
A national TV and radio recording and streaming service for UK higher and further education institutions. Includes over 2 million recordings of films, documentaries, news and radio programmes from 75 channels, with the ability to request upcoming programmes and create playlists and clips. How to use BOB
Communication & Mass Media Complete indexes journals in areas related to communication and mass media, such as translation. Includes links to some full-text.
Expert bibliographies on topics related to Cinema and Media Studies. Note that UEA Library may not have all the items in the bibliography, so you will need to check if we have access or request that the Library obtains it.
Enables cross search of three important film databases: AFI Catalog, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and Film Index International. There are also separate entries for each in the Database A-Z.
Provides access and searching of ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema-going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK between 1905 and 2000.
The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1993 with full or short records for films from 1994 to 2015. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.. Can also be searched as part of the Screen Studies Collection .
Established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for documenting radio - and later, TV - programmes in print, it is the only record of many early broadcasts. It also included contributions from many major UK writers and poets.
The most comprehensive UK TV and radio listing available, from 1923-10 days in advance - with links through to BoB recordings where available.
Index to the London edition of the TVTimes, the listings magazine for ITV broadcasts, from September 1955 to March 1985, enabling users to search for programmes, production staff and performers. This content is also searchable within TRILT (see Database A-Z).
Index of BBC television and radio listings from 1923 to the present. Also incorporates the listings from Radio Times. 10 million+ programmes are included, with click-through access to 240,000 playable recordings.
For newspaper and magazine content, which will often have articles relating to film, TV and media, please see our dedicated guide, which covers both current and historic papers and magazines.
A cross-searchable online reference collection, featuring full-text content from over 1,000 reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Contains over 3.5 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos) and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopaedias and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.
An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.
New Ebook Central Reader app for offline reading. Find out more.
Staff using a university-owned device can download the new app directly from the Software Centre - just search for ‘Ebook Central’.
Multi-subject collection of e-books which can be browsed, read online or downloaded.
JSTOR provides searchable back issues of scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects. JSTOR does not include the last few years of most of its journals, so for recent and current issues, use the Journal A-Z or Library Search.
Provides access to ebooks and journals in the arts and humanities. UEA-owned content held on the MUSE platform can also be found via Library Search. Some content showing as not held on MUSE may be available to UEA on other platforms.
In addition to the primary sources listed on this page under Key Resources for Film, TV and Media, you may find these resources useful.
This resource will no longer be available after 31/12/2025 - Brings together key documentaries, newsreels and archival footage. Areas of focus include Trade and Exploration, American Revolutionary Era, Civil War, Imperialism and Colonialism, World War I, The Jazz Age, Post-World War II Era, Sixties, Women’s History and Black History.
Large collection of rare and hard to find comics from across the world along with journals and other supporting literature.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images.
Founded in 1937 by anthropologist Tom Harrisson, film-maker Humphrey Jennings and poet Charles Madge, the aim was to document the social history of Britain by recruiting a team of observers and volunteers to write about their lives and opinions.
This resource offers revolutionary access to the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Search across many of the UEA's primary source databases. Includes many newspapers (Daily Mail, Times, Telegraph) and magazines like the Economist, Times Literary Supplement and Listener.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global holds details of millions of dissertations and theses from around the world. In August 2022 UEA upgraded from the abstract and index version to the full-text version (containing more than 3 million full-text)
National service run by the British Library to increase visibility and access to UKs doctoral research (PhD) theses. There are more than 600,000 records with about half of these full-text, either directly available from EThOS or via links to the institution's own repository. Note that you will need to register with EThOS to download theses.
For queries about using the library building, booking study spaces, accessing electronic resources and finding and borrowing print books, email the Library Helpdesk at lib.helpdesk@uea.ac.uk.
For more in-depth subject support, you can email the Teaching Librarians at lib.teaching@uea.ac.uk.
