UEA Library: Pharmacy: Home

Announcements

Welcome to the UEA Library. If you are new to the UEA we have lots of helpful information on our web pages.

Key resources for Pharmacy

British Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window The official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use.
Cochrane Library Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window An index database. Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research. It has over 22 million indexed records from thousands of peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, includes over 6 million records that cannot be found in MEDLINE.
Medicines Complete This link opens in a new window A suite of drug information sources including the BNF; Martindale the complete drug reference and Stockley's Drug Interactions.

MEDLINE
An index database. Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world from journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems and the biomedical sciences. Available via 3 alternative routes:

MEDLINE Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Ultimate database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
MEDLINE - Ovid This link opens in a new window MEDLINE index database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.MEDLINE (OvidSP) includes access to"In Process" citations.
Medline - PubMed This link opens in a new window MEDLINE index database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. PubMed isa service of the National Library of Medicine (U.S.). It provides access to over 36 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.

Osmosis This link opens in a new window Osmosis contains over 2,000+ videos. Covering Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and more, this is an invaluable resource for learning core concepts.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window Reaxys is a web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data.
When prompted with a Sign in page, click Sign in via Institution (bottom of the page) and then search for UEA.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods contains information suited to all levels of researcher, from undergraduates starting their first projects to senior academics. Content includes dictionary and encyclopaedia entries, book chapters, full books, journal articles, and the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (Little Green Books) and Qualitative Research Methods series (Little Blue Books).
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Scifinder provides access to the CAS databases: Chemical Abstracts, Registry and CASREACT. Search by chemical name, structure, formula or search for reactions, or references to journal articles by topic, author, etc. Please see the SciFinder guide for further instructions.

SciFinder Guide

Scopus This link opens in a new window Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.

Additional resources

British Pharmacological Society

Cite them right This link opens in a new window An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Books and journal collections

Royal Society of Chemistry Publications Online This link opens in a new window The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) is the Professional Body for chemists. The RSC publishes a wide range of books, journals and databases. This site provides access to a limited number of UEA subscribed full-text electronic journals. Abstracts are available for other journals.
ClinicalKey Medicine, Health, and Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Comprising 240+ e-books, ClinicalKey is a premium collection of medical texts. Including flagship titles like Kumar & Clark, Davidson’s, and Rang & Dale, this extensive collection covers wide-ranging areas within Medicine, Health, and Pharmacy, and can be accessed via the web interface or the ClinicalKey app.
On first access, you are taken to a Registration page. Please add your details to complete the registration process.

Referencing tool

Cite them right This link opens in a new window
Cite Them Right online referencing tool provides answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Examples are given in Harvard, APA, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver referencing styles.

Pharmacy

Librarian (School of Pharmacy)

Need help?

Announcements

Key resources for Pharmacy

Additional resources

Books and journal collections

Referencing tool