This subject guide gives you an introduction to library services and resources and provides a selection of key databases and other resources likely to be of use as you undertake your studies.
Most of our books and journals are digital, and require your username and password. Install Lean Library on your personal device to save logging in every time. LEAN Library - LEAN Library - UEA Library at University of East Anglia (libguides.com)
Remember if you need help in writing an assignment take a look at our First Assignment and beyond study guide we have created with the Learning Enhancement Team.
There is more detail of subject-specific resources on the individual subject pages.
However the following will be of use across modules:
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.
Scifinder provides access to the CAS databases: Chemical Abstracts, Registry and CASREACT. Search by chemical name, structure, formula or search for reactions, or references to journal articles by topic, author, etc.
You will need to register for access with your UEA email address. View the Privacy Policy.
Journals and ebooks from the renowned scientific society, IOP
An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopaedias and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Got your first assignment and not sure where to begin? First assignment has been put together by the Library and Learning Enhancement Team, to support you when you come to tackle your first university assignment.
UEA library staff are working on a Decolonisation Guide.
You have probably heard calls to decolonise the curriculum and tackle racism within universities. Higher education in the UK has been shaped by its colonial past in ways that have led to inequality.
Decolonisation is a disruptive process which challenges these existing structures and assumptions and brings in a wider range of ideas and experiences.
Libraries should not be seen as neutral repositories of information or knowledge - they often reflect and reinforce colonial ideas. With your help we seek to change this.
Check the reading list link in Blackboard, or search for the module code here
For queries about using the library building, booking study spaces, accessing electronic resources and finding and borrowing print books, email the Library Helpdesk at lib.help@uea.ac.uk.
For more in-depth subject support, you can email the Teaching Librarians at lib.teaching@uea.ac.uk.
