Literature and Creative Writing: Online learning

This video provides a three minute walk-through of the library and its services.

Start your journey provides a range of videos and other resources that help you get familiar with the Library and how to use it.

The Library has joined with the Learning Enhancement team (LET) to produce a guide for tackling your first assignment. Well worth checking out.

Our Digital Toolkit highlights tools, apps and software that will help you to manage and organise our work.

Library Welcome Guide for 2023. Pick up a copy in the Library or click on the cover to download a PDF version (6MB)

Covers all the floors and classmarks in the Library

We will be adding resources to this section throughout the first few weeks of Semester 1.

Reference Management Software

One of the Reference Management tools UEA supports is Zotero. This video walks you through the main features of the software and what you can do with it (25 minutes).

Jisc Historical Texts / ECCO workshop, September 2023

These resources were referenced in the workshop:

• Jisc Historical Texts - includes Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  • Support page - Introductory video is useful
  • Quick Reference Guide - help with interface
• Johnson's Dictionary Online - Project to put online high quality images and searchable text of Johnson's dictionary 
• English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) - catalogue of books and periodicals before 1801
• Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) - edited online editions with high quality transcriptions, notes and commentary
• Hathi Trust Digital Library - photographed from microfilm and original texts
• ProQuest One Literature - transcribed text for key selected literature (poems, drama and prose)
• Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection - large searchable database of newspaper content (will be incorporated into ECCO)