If you’re new to UEA and its Library, take a look at our ‘Start your journey’ pages. You can also familiarise yourself with our building before visiting by viewing our Virtual Library Tour.
Top Tip! Remember to install the Lean Library browser tool onto your laptop as this will make accessing the full content of a journal article so much easier.
Got assignments to complete and need some help? Take a look at our First assignment and beyond study guide we have created with the Learning Enhancement Team.
If a topic is new to you, a textbook is a good place to start. Go to Library Search BOOKS+ to find books (both print and electronic) in UEA Library. Our UEA Library Look up a book video shows you how to do this and how to request a copy if all copies are out on loan.
Remember you can also search Ebook Central by topic to find ebooks that we haven't yet purchased. You can then preview them for 5 minutes and request we purchase it if it looks useful.
Journal articles provide more in-depth information on a topic. To find articles on a topic, a good place to search is a journal database, such as Scopus or the Web of Science.
If you already have a reference for a journal article and want to read the full text, search for the journal title in Find Journals and then look up the relevant year, volume, issue no. and page numbers.
On blackboard, each of your modules should give a link to an online Reading List. Alternatively, you can locate your reading lists by searching our Reading Lists system. Check out our video: Your Reading Lists at UEA.
Digital ToolKit for help and guidance on tools, apps and software to help you manage and organise your work.
Study Toolkit Videos, worksheets and guides on all aspects of finding and using information for your studies.
UEA Library YouTube channel for lots of other video guides to the Library and our resources.
There are several alternative databases that you can search to find journal articles. Each indexes slightly different journals, so you will get different results from searching each of these:
Some other key resources are:
To see a full list of all the Library's databases go to our A-Z databases page.
Gateway to research on global development challenges from the Institute of Development Studies (IDS).
Good introductions to topics: follow up the references for further reading.
SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment.
Collection of key UK social, economic and population data resources, including census data.
Links to government publications from DEFRA, Food Standards Agency etc.
Geography is taught within the School of Environmental Sciences and the School of International Development. Get in touch with your relevant Academic Librarian if you need advice / help with using Library resources to support your study, research or teaching.
Visit our Decolonisation guide to get informed and help change your Library collection.
Our Decolonistation: Science and Health page highlights some of the initiatives in the Sciences.
