There are several alternative databases that you can search to find journal articles. Each indexes slightly different journals, so you will get different results from searching each of these:
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
Dimensions is a next generation linked research information system from Digital Science. This link takes you to the freely available version where you can register for a free account to search for research publications, citations, altmetric data and datasets derived from Figshare, Dryad, Zenodo, Pangaea etc. Depending on the needs of your literature review Dimensions may be a useful search source alongside other bibliographic databases provided by UEA Library.
Please note-UEA Library does not subscribe to Dimensions Plus, the full version of this database, (that contains data about grants, patents, clinical trials and policy documents).
You will need to register for access with your UEA email address. View the Privacy Policy.
Collection of scholarly, government and general interest publications covering all aspects of human impact to the environment with links to full-text of articles / reports where available.
The Lyell Collection provides full text access to all journals, Special Publications and Memoirs published by the Geological Society of London.
Some other key resources are:
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to over 6.6 million reports from over 25000 organisations. You can search by keyword, browse by theme or topic, or find table-based datasets.
You will need to register for access with your UEA email address. View the Privacy Policy.
Specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles on life sciences written by leading researchers.
Searchable science and engineering data taken from leading databooks and databases. In addition to text, includes advanced features such as interactive data tables, equations and charts.
At UEA, you have access to millions of pages of newspaper and magazine content. We have a guide to help find and use these.
This resource is also a great place to start:
PressReader allows you to browse, read, and download more than 7,000 newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in 60 different languages. How to log in: Click on the person icon (top right) , select Library or Group, search for East Anglia, Click on Open Athens. Log in with UEA credentials. You will then be able to create bookmarks of your favourite publications by clicking on the + icon top right, and create your own channel.
New Scientist is now available via:
PressReader allows you to browse, read, and download more than 7,000 newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in 60 different languages. How to log in: Click on the person icon (top right) , select Library or Group, search for East Anglia, Click on Open Athens. Log in with UEA credentials. You will then be able to create bookmarks of your favourite publications by clicking on the + icon top right, and create your own channel.
Cite Them Right Online
Cite Them Right online referencing tool provides answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Examples are given in Harvard, APA, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver referencing styles.
Lean Library
This useful resource can now help with referencing the sources that it helps you navigate to. Download this invaluable browser plug-in today!
Visit our Decolonisation guide to get informed and help change your Library collection.
Our Decolonistation: Science and Health page highlights some of the initiatives in the Sciences.
Need help with discovering new resources, finding high quality sources for assignments or working on literature reviews?
