Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: Home

Announcements

Welcome to the subject guide for Biological Sciences.

New students. Here are my top 3 tips to get you started:

  • watch our Virtual Library tour so you know what to expect when you enter the Library building.
  • bookmark this guide - then when you need info on how to search for a book or a journal article you know where to go! 
  • install the Library Access tool onto your laptop as this will make accessing the full content of a journal article so much easier. 

Returning students & staff. We've had to make some changes to Library services to make everything COVID-secure: check out our COVID-19 FAQs. You must have your campus card with you to enter the building.

Whilst I'm not currently working in the Library building, if you need help, I can still be contacted via my email using the link on this page.

Keep a watch on the UEA Library Twitter feed for all the latest news.

Looking for a book?

If a topic is new to you, a textbook is a good place to start. Go to Library Search BOOKS+  to find books (both print and electronic) in UEA Library. Our UEA Library Look up a book video shows you how to do this and how to request a copy if all copies are out on loan.

Looking for a journal article?

Journal articles provide more in-depth information on a topic. To find articles on a topic, a good place to search is a journal database, such as Scopus or the Web of Science.

If you already have a reference for a  journal article and want to read the full text, search for the journal title in Find Journals and then look up the relevant year, volume, issue no. and page numbers. 

My reading lists

On blackboard, each of your modules should give a link to an online Reading List. Alternatively, you can locate your reading lists by searching our Reading Lists system. Check out our video: Your Reading Lists at UEA.

Toolkits and study guides

Digital ToolKit  for help and guidance on tools, apps and software to help you manage and organise your work. 

Study Toolkit Videos, worksheets and guides on all aspects of finding and using information for your studies

 

Key resources for Biological Sciences

There are several alternative databases that you can search to find journal articles. Each indexes slightly different journals, so you will get different results from searching each of these:

  • MEDLINE

Database of journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems and the biomedical sciences. Available via 3 alternative routes:

Some other key resources are:

Additional resources

Articles from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory annual conference on new developments in biological research.

Good introductions to topics: follow up the references for further reading.

Genetics, cell biology, science communicaton and scientific career information provided by Nature Education

Links to government publications from DEFRA, Food Standards Agency etc.

To see a full list of all the Library's databases go to our A-Z databases page. 

Liz Clarke's picture
Liz Clarke
Contact:
Currently working from home during COVID-19.
Working hours: Monday to Thursday 8.20 - 13.00

Welcome

I'm Liz Clarke, the Academic Librarian for the School of Biological Sciences. Get in touch if you need advice / help with using Library resources to support your study, research or teaching.

Library on social media