There are tens of thousands of books and journal articles related to the History of Art available via Library Search. Here are some other resources you may find useful.
UEA has access to the Grove Dictionary of Art online on the Oxford Art Online site (but not the Benezit Dictionary). Grove covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopaedias and other reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Important bibliography of the History of Art including literature published between 1975 and 2007. Succeeded by the International Bibliography of Art (IBA). Focuses on European and American visual arts. You will need to look up items in Library Search to see if we hold them.
Important bibliography of the History of Art, covering literature from 2008 to today. Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). In addition to Western art (from late antiquity) and Global art (from 1945), it includes works on museum studies, archaeology and architecture. You will need to look up items in Library Search to see if we hold them.
Expert bibliographies on topics related to the History of Art. Note that UEA Library may not have all the items in the bibliography, so you will need to check if we have access or request that the Library obtains it.
Expert bibliographies on topics related to Medieval Studies. Note that UEA Library may not have all the items in the bibliography, so you will need to check if we have access or request that the Library obtains it.
Expert bibliographies on topics related to the Renaissance and Reformation. Note that UEA Library may not have all the items in the bibliography, so you will need to check if we have access or request that the Library obtains it.
Enables searching across a sub-set of the Worldcat catalogue, drawn from the world's major art libraries, with additional links and resources added in. Replaces and older resource called Artlibraries.net
A joint catalogue of the book and journal holdings of many UK higher education libraries, including the British Library, Cambridge University Library and other national or large research libraries. UEA's holdings are also included. This replaces two previous catalogues: COPAC and SUNCAT.
NUA houses a specialist art, design and media collection with thousands of books and many journals. It is open to visitors. The Library catalogue covers books videos, DVDs, journals and Special Collections.
Searches full text of academic articles, books and book chapters. Use the Lean Library plug-in or set UEA under Library Links to generate links to UEA resources. Check any books in Library Search to see whether we have copies.
Full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Database of thousands of digitised texts related to the history of art and material culture.
A major archive of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. UEA has access to parts 1-10. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. Note that this content can also be found via Library Search.
Worlds first illustrated weekly paper, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Covering key events and personalities over these 160 years. Full-text searchable with high-quality digital imaging.
Full-text peer-reviewed e-journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA) including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Current and back issues available.
Multi-subject collection of e-books which can be browsed, read online or downloaded to a PC. Access is also available to titles not currently owned by UEA. These may be browsed and requested for purchase by the library.
JSTOR was established to provide back issues of scholarly journals but now also includes large collections of eBooks and primary sources. For books we don't have on JSTOR check Library search to see if they are available on another ebook platform.
JSTOR provides searchable back issues of scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects. JSTOR does not include the last few years of most of its journals, so for recent and current issues, use the Journal A-Z or Library Search.
Provides access to ebooks and journals in the arts and humanities. UEA-owned content held on the MUSE platform can also be found via Library Search. Some content showing as not held on MUSE may be available to UEA on other platforms.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available.
Provides a single search across Cambridge University Press's (CUP) academic ebooks and journals. It is possible to filter results to UEA content. However note that we may have Cambridge ebooks on other platforms, so if it says we don't hold a book do also check Library Search.
Provides a single search across Oxford University Press's (OUP) academic ebooks and journals. It is possible to filter results to UEA content. However note that we may have Oxford ebooks on other platforms, so if it says we don't hold a book do also check Library Search.
A directory of nearly 50,000 academic open access books. Note that many of these are also to be found within Library Search.
DOAJ aims to provide a listing of all free, full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals. The list covers all subjects and languages and is searchable by journal title and subject area.
Contains millions of older, out of copyright, books. Books can be searched, browsed and read online.
A vast non-profit digital library containing millions of books, movies, software, music, websites and other content. Includes the Wayback machine, which enables you to view past versions of websites.
Database of art held in UK Public collections. Includes over 300,000 works.
A national TV and radio recording and streaming service for UK higher and further education institutions. Includes over 2 million recordings of films, documentaries, news and radio programmes from 75 channels, with the ability to request upcoming programmes and create playlists and clips.
For newspaper and magazine content, please see our dedicated guide, which covers both current and historic papers and magazines.
National service run by the British Library to increase visibility and access to UKs doctoral research (PhD) theses. There are more than 600,000 records with about half of these full-text, either directly available from EThOS or via links to the institution's own repository. Note that you will need to register with EThOS to download theses.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global holds details of millions of dissertations and theses from around the world. In August 2022 UEA upgraded from the abstract and index version to the full-text version (containing more than 3 million full-text)
DART-Europe to close down permanently on 1 February 2025
We regret to inform you that the DART-Europe E-theses Portal will be closing down permanently on 1 February 2025.
If you are lookiing for theses, please try searching in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
The Library Helpdesk is your first point of contact for queries about using the library building, booking study spaces, accessing electronic resources and finding and borrowing print books.
I can provide more in-depth support - if you need help, please do get in touch!
Email Grant.Young@uea.ac.uk
