UEA Library: Pharmacology and Drug Discovery: Home

Announcements

Welcome to the UEA Library. If you are new to the UEA we have lots of helpful information on our web pages.

Key resources for Pharmacology and Drug Discovery

British Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
The British Pharmacopoeia is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines incorporating the latest requirements of the European Pharmacopoeia. It is a compilation of pharmaceutical products with their formulas and methods of preparation.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Medicines Complete This link opens in a new window
A suite of drug information sources including the BNF; Martindale the complete drug reference and Stockley's Drug Interactions.

MEDLINE
An index database. Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world from journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems and the biomedical sciences. Available via 3 alternative routes:

MEDLINE - Ovid This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE index database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.MEDLINE (OvidSP) includes access to"In Process" citations.
Medline - PubMed This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE index database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. PubMed isa service of the National Library of Medicine (U.S.). It provides access to over 36 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
MEDLINE Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Osmosis This link opens in a new window
Osmosis contains over 2,000+ videos. Covering Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and more, this is an invaluable resource for learning core concepts.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data.
When prompted with a Sign in page, click Sign in via Institution (bottom of the page) and then search for UEA.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Scifinder provides access to the CAS databases: Chemical Abstracts, Registry and CASREACT. Search by chemical name, structure, formula or search for reactions, or references to journal articles by topic, author, etc.

SciFinder Guide

Key resources for Business

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the industry's most used business research database, providing full-text for more than 2,300 journals, including full-text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
Business Expert Press Digital Library This link opens in a new window
E-books of topics taught in MBA programmes including marketing, management, organisational behaviour, economics, human resource management, finance and operations management . Access to all titles published in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. All the source data is clearly marked and available, and the data can be downloaded in a variety of formats for use in your work.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides information on 10,000 companies, 2,000 industries and 50 countries. Includes company and industry reports, market research, case studies, business news and financial deals
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Access to Mintel Academic and the Mintel Trends tool via one platform. Mintel academic provides access to consumer and market research used by professionals. UEA has access to the following categories of reports: Food and Drink, Retail, Sustainability (UK) and Technology.
The Mintel Trends tool provides strategic, evidence-backed insights on how today's consumer thinks, feels and acts. It analyses changes in culture, society, brands and markets across a wide range of market areas.

For more Business resources see the Business Subject Guide

Additional resources

British Pharmacological Society

Cite them right This link opens in a new window
An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Department of Health and Social Care
Evidence Search Evidence Search NICE Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice. The services cover health, social care and public health evidence. Evidence Services aim to help professionals make better and quicker evidence based decisions.
Medicines Guides
Royal Pharmaceutical Society
Royal Society of Chemistry

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.

Books and journal collections

Royal Society of Chemistry Publications Online This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) is the Professional Body for chemists. The RSC publishes a wide range of books, journals and databases. This site provides access to a limited number of UEA subscribed full-text electronic journals. Abstracts are available for other journals.
ClinicalKey Medicine, Health, and Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Comprising 240+ e-books, ClinicalKey is a premium collection of medical texts. Including flagship titles like Kumar & Clark, Davidson’s, and Rang & Dale, this extensive collection covers wide-ranging areas within Medicine, Health, and Pharmacy, and can be accessed via the web interface or the ClinicalKey app.
On first access, you are taken to a Registration page. Please add your details to complete the registration process.

Literature Reviews

Need help getting started with your literature review?

Here are some pointers:

If you would like further help or have some questions, make an appointment and we can look at it together. Appointments can be on Teams or face to face, whichever suits you best. Get in touch via email: l.fleming@uea.ac.uk

Referencing tool

Cite them right This link opens in a new window
Cite Them Right online referencing tool provides answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Examples are given in Harvard, APA, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver referencing styles.

Pharmacology and Drug Discovery

Librarian (School of Pharmacy)

Need help?