When you feel confident using library search you can start adding to your search process by looking for journal articles in specialist Psychology databases. While these databases help power and feed into the results in library search they are worth investigating individually as well as they have extra search functions and also help surface abstracts and articles not yet held by the UEA
You can find a full list of the specialist research tools and platforms used in Psychology by selecting Psychology from the subject drop down list in A-Z Databases.
Here are some of the key platforms for Psychology which you may want to investigate first:
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides information from over 500 journals.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals. You can find dedicated training videos on PsycINFO on the PsycINFO training blog.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
We currently have a yearlong trial of Scopus AI. You can access it via the AI tab on the Scopus Platform. If you are off campus will need to use the ‘sign in via your organization’ option on the site for access.
Its technology is like Generative AI’s such as ChatGPT, but it is trained on a smaller managed set of data and content and results are underpinned with a detailed knowledge graph of works, individuals and concepts to minimise inaccuracy.
Not all of Scopus is currently covered. The product currently indexes back to 2013 and does not learn from full texts, only abstracts and citations. Elsevier refer to it as a small language model as opposed to a large language model. There is some humanities coverage but Scopus generally reflects STEM and Social Science fields.
To find out more check the supplier’s product webpage and for a good overview and for more details check the Scopus Libguide
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.
Stastia offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. Statista now has Generative AI enabled search functions via its 'research AI' tab.
Provides information on 10,000 companies, 2,000 industries and 50 countries. Includes company and industry reports, market research, case studies, business news and financial deals
Access to Mintel Academic and the Mintel Trends tool via one platform. Mintel academic provides access to consumer and market research used by professionals. UEA has access to the following categories of reports: Food and Drink, Beauty, Retail and Technology.
The Mintel Trends tool provides strategic, evidence-backed insights on how today's consumer thinks, feels and acts. It analyses changes in culture, society, brands and markets across a wide range of market areas.
