UEA Library: Official Publications: Home

Introduction

The library contains a number of publications in print including British Government publications, European Union publications and statistics and publications by international agencies such as the United Nations. These are shelved in the rolling stack on Floor 02 of the Library.

However, there is a wealth of information online we would advise you to consult as a starting point. In particular, the library subscribes to the House of Common Parliamentary Papers database which contains House of Commons and House of Lord sessional papers from 1715 to 2004, including Hansard.

Librarian

Lucy Fleming

she / her

Email Me

Subjects: Education, Official Publications, Pharmacy

Key resources for Official Publications

Census information
Access to 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001 and 2011 UK census data

Europa This link opens in a new window
The European Union Online gateway
Hansard 1803-2005 This link opens in a new window
Text of Hansard debates from the early 1800s to the early 2000s. Also includes Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports and Grand Committee reports along with lists of the people involved.

Hansard (current)
Hansard (the Official Report) is the edited verbatim report of proceedings of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

Law Commission This link opens in a new window
Publications and consultation papers of the UK Law Commission can be found here.
National Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
The UK's home of official statistics, reflecting Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level. Summary stories and detailed data releases are published here free of charge.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data. Includes 22 statistical databases including OECD Main Economic Indicators.
UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Database containing House of Commons and House of Lord sessional papers from 1715 to the present, including Hansard up to 2005. This is a great place to start if looking for historical government documents.
UK Government This link opens in a new window
GOV.UK provides news, information and publications for all the UK government departments.

UK Legislation
UK Legislation
All UK legislation is published here in its original form. Some revised versions of legislation are also available. To make sure you are consulting law currently in force you can access legislation through either Lexis Library or Westlaw.

UK Parliament, including Hansard This link opens in a new window
UK Parliament online including links to Hansard and POLIS (Parliamentary Online Indexing Service) which is a well-established database, maintained and updated by House of Commons Library staff. POLIS provides an index to the proceedings and publications of both Houses of Parliament and includes the full-text of Early Day Motions since May 1997.

United Nations
Main website of the United Nations.
US Government Printing Office
Search here for US government publications.

Accessing resources off campus

The best way to access our digital resources off campus is to start at the Library homepage.

In addition, download the Library Access browser tool, it provides quick and simple access to online content provide by the UEA Library.