Working Days: Mon-Fri
Email:
Subjects:
Schools and other responsibilities:
AMA; DEV; HIS; IIH; LDC; Support for UEA Archives and Special Collections
This guide provides support in using the library and highlights resources that will be useful to you in your studies and research - whether you are new to UEA and university study or a seasoned academic. Bookmark this page and come back regularly - it's a good jumping-off point for key library services and new resources are being added all the time.
- for some key resources to support you in your studies or research
Go to Library Essentials (HUM) on Blackboard
- for lots of support on using the library and its resources
Useful Quick Links:
Essential tools:
I strongly recommend you install the Library's Lean Library web browser extension. This helps connect you to library content when you're searching the Web or using Google Scholar or other online databases. It can help trouble-shoot if you are not automatically signed in via UEA.
UEA subscribes to cite them right, which provides help and tutorials on many of the main referencing styles used at UEA. Use this to learn how best to reference books, articles (along with more tricky formats) and to double-check references you download from Library Search or Google Scholar are correct.
The Library has access to the online edition of the latest (17th) edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which is used by the schools of History and Literature, Drama and Creative Writing. Chapter 14 covers Chicago footnotes and bibliographies; Chapter 15, the inline (bracketed) version of Chicago. The Quick Guide provides a useful overview.
The Library Helpdesk is your first point of contact for queries about using the library building, booking study spaces, accessing electronic resources and finding and borrowing print books.
I can provide more in-depth support - if you need help, please do get in touch!
Email Grant.Young@uea.ac.uk
