Digital UEA runs 14-18th October 2024. Each day features a range of sessions - no need to book in advance, just arrive on Floor 0 of the Library at the time of the session. We will also have exhibitors every day who will be able to talk to you about particular services and products. There is going to be a lot to do so make sure to add a note to your diary to join us for Digital UEA 2024!
You can attend any - and as many! - of the sessions running during Digital UEA as you'd like - no need to book, just come along and join us. Today we have:
|
10:00-10:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Making use of Newspapers and Magazines for Research and Leisure, with PressReader Oghenevwoke Ighure (PressReader) Explore over 7,000 newspapers and magazines from around the world and in multiple languages. This extensive library includes a variety of subjects, from current affairs and science to arts and lifestyle, catering to diverse academic and personal interests. Come along and learn how to stay informed about global events and to have a little downtime for your leisure reading. |
|
10:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Introduction to Generative AI and Practical Uses at University Kate Hatcher (Social Sciences Academic Librarian) and Doug Broadbent-Yale (ECO and NBS Librarian) This session will introduce you to the concepts behind Generative AI, the ethics of AI and some use cases for university students. We will then have a practical session looking at how you might use AI tools to help with finding material for your assignments. Please bring a laptop or device if you have one. |
|
11:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Using Gale Current Newspapers and Archives in Your Research Allison Zink & Nikita Archer (Gale Cengage) The Gale: Current Newspapers and Archives session will demonstrate tips and tricks for using the Gale databases for finding present-day news and historical context, highlighting how the old and new can spark ideas for research topics and support dissertation writing. |
|
12:00-13:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Make the Most of Library Search (EBSCO EDS) Rebecca Arnott (EBSCO Library Service Engineer) Library Search is an all-inclusive discovery tool that offers a Google-like search experience, accessible via a search box on the Library homepage. It helps you find and access the Library content you need for your research. Search across books, eBooks, journals, articles and many more sources and EDS will connect you with the full text. Over the summer EDS was updated with a new user interface. With it came a new look and exciting new functionality to help you search more easily and better explore the resources that the Library provides for you. So why come along? This session is a chance for you to take a closer look at some of the functionality Library Search has to offer and understand how it can help you find the content you need and make your research easier! We will also demonstrate how to get the most out of your MyEBSCO account, by saving records to read later, setting up alerts on new published research, saving your search history and picking up on your research where you left off anywhere, any time with any device with an internet connection. |
|
13:00-14:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Digital tools for studying: How Apps and Software Can Enhance the Way You Learn Learning Enhancement Tutors Would you like to feel more confident about using digital tools to help you with studying? The friendly tutors in the Learning Enhancement Team (LET) will show you how you can use apps and software to help with note-taking, reading, writing assignments, referencing, and more. Join them for tips or questions about how to make studying more accessible and effective for you |
|
13:00-14:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - EBSCO Mobile App and eBook Reader Rebecca Arnott (EBSCO Library Service Engineer) The FREE EBSCO Mobile App provides you with an easy way to access all library content (from e-books to journal articles) on your phone. The app allows you to easily search, download, and read eBooks from your library’s EBSCO eBooks collections in the app, without needing an Adobe ID or the Adobe Digital Editions app. Research anytime, anywhere, and if you save books or articles to your personal MyEBSCO account, then these will be synced across your devices to read in future! This session will cover the key features of the app, particularly the eBook reader functionality, and encourage you to download and get started using the app today! |
|
14:00-14:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Gale Thematic Collections and Primary Resources Allison Zink & Nikita Archer (Gale Cengage) Touching on literature, philosophy, history, politics, international relations, and business, this session will delve into both current content and historical archives to show how connections can been drawn across subject areas for innovative undergraduate and graduate research. |
|
15:00-16:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Enhance Your Research and Learning with Box of Broadcasts (BoB) Kathryn Tyler (Learning On Screen) Learning on Screen will showcase their Box of Broadcasts (BoB), a unique and revolutionary platform that allows you to stream an array of broadcast content. Discover a world of possibilities as you delve into an extensive collection of TV and radio programmes, documentaries, news broadcasts, and more, all at your fingertips. Join this session to learn about the user-friendly interface and an abundance of features including the ability to search programme transcripts and existing public playlists, to create your own playlists and specific clips from programmes and to reference with easy one-click citations. |
You can drop-in to talk to exhibitors between the times listed for each - no need to book, just turn up with questions or simply to learn more about their products. They will be at Library Floor 0, Space 2 and today we have:
|
PressReader - 10:00-16:00 Want access to over 7,000 of the world's most popular newspapers & magazines? PressReader delivers just that, and at no cost to you. Drop by to find out more. |
|
Gale - 10:00-16:00 Gale is a global provider of research and digital learning resources, including Gale Business Insights, Gale Primary Sources, and Gale Research Complete. |
|
EBSCO - 10:00-16:00 One of the key platforms you will make use of during your time at UEA, EBSCO provides the UEA's LibrarySearch as well as a range of useful databases. |
|
Learning on Screen - 10:00-16:00 BoB provides access to over 3.2 million free-to-air TV programmes and radio broadcasts. If it's been on UK TV this millennium, it's almost certainly available on BoB. |
You can attend any - and as many! - of the sessions running during Digital UEA as you'd like - no need to book, just come along and join us. Today we have:
|
10:00-10:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Take UEA Library With You - Lean Library: Access, Success, No Stress! In this hands-on session (please bring a laptop if you can!) we’ll be looking at how the FREE Lean Library browser tool can save you time, energy and sometimes even money on getting quick and easy access to UEA Library resources. We’ll cover:
|
|
10:00-11:00 (Library Floor 02, Archives) - Digital in the Archives: Past, Present and Future at UEA Archives Helen Busby (UEA Library Archives Manager and Archivist) Looking at how UEA Archives approaches the preservation and storage of digital content. This session will include how we handle obsolete media from the archives, looking at digitisation in practice, and at the future of digital archive preservation, including our state-of-the-art digital preservation system Preservica. |
|
11:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Blackboard & Talis 101 - for Students Robin Farndon (Reading Lists Administrator) & TBC (CTEL) This session will cover the basics of using Blackboard and Talis Aspire Online Reading Lists. We'll look at navigating your way to these resources, how to set reading intentions, annotate items on your reading lists, and how to save reading list items for use in referencing software among other topics. |
|
11:00-12:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Make the Most of Library Search (EBSCO EDS) Rebecca Arnott (EBSCO Library Service Engineer) Library Search is an all-inclusive discovery tool that offers a Google-like search experience, accessible via a search box on the Library homepage. It helps you find and access the Library content you need for your research. Search across books, eBooks, journals, articles and many more sources and EDS will connect you with the full text. Over the summer EDS was updated with a new user interface. With it came a new look and exciting new functionality to help you search more easily and better explore the resources that the Library provides for you. So why come along? This session is a chance for you to take a closer look at some of the functionality Library Search has to offer and understand how it can help you find the content you need and make your research easier! We will also demonstrate how to get the most out of your MyEBSCO account, by saving records to read later, setting up alerts on new published research, saving your search history and picking up on your research where you left off anywhere, any time with any device with an internet connection. |
|
13:00-14:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Digital Tools for Studying: How Apps and Software Can Enhance the Way You Learn Learning Enhancement Tutors Would you like to feel more confident about using digital tools to help you with studying? The friendly tutors in the Learning Enhancement Team (LET) will show you how you can use apps and software to help with note-taking, reading, writing assignments, referencing, and more. Join them for tips or questions about how to make studying more accessible and effective for you |
|
13:00-13:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Take UEA Library With You - Lean Library: Access, Success, No Stress! In this hands-on session (please bring a laptop if you can!) we’ll be looking at how the FREE Lean Library browser tool can save you time, energy and sometimes even money on getting quick and easy access to UEA Library resources. We’ll cover:
|
|
14:00-14:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Supporting You With Your Assignments and Research: Sage Research Methods Alexander Yagoub (Sage Publishing) In this session, we will introduce you to the database “Sage Research Methods”. This is a key database to support students, academics and researchers with their needs when it comes to research. Whether it’s a video on how to do a literature review… or making sense of an ANOVA analysis, Sage Research Methods can push you forward in your research goals |
|
15:00-15:50 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Open Access Publishing - the What, Why and How? Liz Clarke and Anna Collins Come along to this session with your questions about Open Access Publishing. We can explain how you publish academic research, what is meant by publishing Open Access and the advantages of doing so, how to find Open Access Resources and how to publish Open Access. |
|
15:00-16:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - EBSCO Mobile App and eBook Reader Rebecca Arnott (EBSCO Library Service Engineer) The FREE EBSCO Mobile App provides you with an easy way to access all library content (from e-books to journal articles) on your phone. The app allows you to easily search, download, and read eBooks from your library’s EBSCO eBooks collections in the app, without needing an Adobe ID or the Adobe Digital Editions app. Research anytime, anywhere, and if you save books or articles to your personal MyEBSCO account, then these will be synced across your devices to read in future! This session will cover the key features of the app, particularly the eBook reader functionality, and encourage you to download and get started using the app today! |
You can drop-in to talk to exhibitors between the times listed for each - no need to book, just turn up with questions or simply to learn more about their products. They will be at Library Floor 0, Space 2 and today we have:
|
EBSCO - 10:00-16:00 One of the key platforms you will make use of during your time at UEA, EBSCO provides the UEA's LibrarySearch as well as a range of useful databases. |
|
Sage - 10:00-16:00 Sage is a global academic publisher of books, journals, and a growing suite of library products and services. |
You can attend any - and as many! - of the sessions running during Digital UEA as you'd like - no need to book, just come along and join us. Today we have:
|
10:00-12:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 2) - Free eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eMagazines with Norfolk Public Libraries Members of the Norfolk County Council Library Service will be on hand to set-up your membership to the library service, and download the Libby app, giving you free access to a large collection of eBooks, eAudio books and eMagazines on Overdrive https://norfolk.overdrive.com/ as well as their print collections. Please also bring one form of proof of address. |
|
11:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Behind the Scenes Library Tour Ever wondered what happens in the library back offices? How the Returns machine works? How we order and make our digital resources available? Join members of our friendly library team on a tour of the bits of the library you don’t normally get to see. |
|
11:30-14:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 2) - UEA Safezone App UEA Security Team SafeZone is a free app for UEA students and staff to enhance your personal safety on campus UEA Security Team will be on hand to help you download and register for SafeZone, and get the most out of the app. |
|
13:00-15:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Decolonise Together: Creating Author Profiles to Action Library Change Jenny Whitaker and Kitty Laine, Senior Collection Assistants Are you interested in promoting diverse voices and challenging dominant narratives in academia? For the past few years, our Decolonise UEA Library collection has been steadily growing all thanks to the suggestions and contributions of our users! Join the library anti-racism group in highlighting some of the authors you’ve added to our collection and to help us continue transforming it. In this collaborative workshop, we’ll be:
Find out more and see some example author profiles: https://uea-uk.libguides.com/c.php?g=690757&p=5246583 |
|
14:00-14:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Behind the Scenes Library Tour Ever wondered what happens in the library back offices? How the Returns machine works? How we order and make our digital resources available? Join members of our friendly library team on a tour of the bits of the library you don’t normally get to see. |
|
15:00-16:00 (Library Floor 0, Room 0.10) - Blackboard & Talis 101 - for Academic Staff Robin Farndon (Reading Lists Administrator) & TBC (CTEL) We will look at the basics of using Blackboard, how to find your reading lists, create new lists, and add a range of items to your reading lists from both the library's catalogue and other online sources. Please bring along a laptop if you can. |
You can drop-in to talk to exhibitors between the times listed for each - no need to book, just turn up with questions or simply to learn more about their products. They will be at Library Floor 0, Space 2 and today we have:
|
Norfolk Libraries - 10:00-12:00 Members of the Norfolk County Council Library Service will be on hand to set-up your membership to the library service, and download the Libby app, giving you free access to a large collection of eBooks, eAudio books and eMagazines on Overdrive https://norfolk.overdrive.com/ as well as their print collections. Please also bring one form of proof of address. |
|
UEA Security (SafeZone) - 11:30-14:00 SafeZone is a free app for UEA students and staff to enhance your personal safety on campus UEA Security Team will be on hand to help you download and register for SafeZone, and get the most out of the app. |
|
|
You can attend any - and as many! - of the sessions running during Digital UEA as you'd like - no need to book, just come along and join us. Today we have:
|
10:00-10:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Discover and Learn: Your Guide for Using O'Reilly eBooks Louisa Vickers-Mills (Clarivate) Come along to discover how O'Reilly's resources (topics range from programming to IT networking, to project management, to graphic design, to business strategy) can help support your study. We will look at available content and show you how to read ebooks, watch videos, and find answers to your academic questions. |
|
10:00-10:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Unlocking Research Potential with Scopus and Scopus AI Vishal Gupta (Elsevier) Find out how to make the most of Scopus and best practices for effective research. Learn how to harness Scopus AI tool for generating summaries and visual representations, identifying experts and exploring further. |
|
11:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - An Introduction to SciVal Dr Hannah Kent-Webb (Management Information Officer) The SciVal database provides access to the research performance data of over 24,000 research institutions and their associated researchers based across more than 230 countries worldwide. This session will give you an overview of SciVal, what the database can offer and how to use it. Use data driven insight to visualise and evaluate your research performance and strengths, benchmark that performance over time and compared to your peers, explore your current and potential collaborations, and identify emerging research topics. SciVal can help support your career growth, enrich your local knowledge, support research strategy, evaluation, and funding success. |
|
11:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Ebook Central Essentials: A Student's Guide to eBook Digital Reading Louisa Vickers-Mills (Clarivate) Join this session to learn all about Ebook Central. Learn how to use the online reader, take notes and highlight relevant sections, download ebooks to read offline, and request ebook titles from your library. |
|
12:00-12:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Unlocking Research Potential with Scopus and Scopus AI Vishal Gupta (Elsevier) Find out how to make the most of Scopus and best practices for effective research. Learn how to harness Scopus AI tool for generating summaries and visual representations, identifying experts and exploring further. |
|
13:00-13:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - An Introduction to Web of Science Valentin Bogorov (Clarivate) Unlock a world of research with Clarivate’s Web of Science! Discover scholarly articles across all disciplines, and elevate your academic projects with trusted, peer-reviewed sources. Build your own bibliographic database. Start exploring today and take your studies to the next level! |
|
13:00-13:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Core Resources for Medical Education - ClinicalKey, Complete Anatomy, and Osmosis Nigel Ashworth & Jeffrey Reyes (Elsevier) ClinicalKey Student Foundations is a portfolio of digital textbooks that the UEA library has invested in for every medical student. It includes core titles such as Rang & Dales Pharmacology, Gray's Anatomy and Gray's Anatomy for Students, Guyton & Hall's Textbook of Medical Physiology, and Kumar & Clark's Clinical Medicine. Complete Anatomy is a 3D Anatomy platform that extends Anatomy practice beyond the dissection lab and Osmosis is an illustrated video platform covering the foundation sciences and clinical sciences. |
|
14:00-14:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Blackboard & Talis 101 - for Students Robin Farndon (Reading Lists Administrator) & TBC (CTEL) This session will cover the basics of using Blackboard and Talis Aspire Online Reading Lists. We'll look at navigating your way to these resources, how to set reading intentions, annotate items on your reading lists, and how to save reading list items for use in referencing software among other topics. |
|
14:00-14:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Search Smarter: Navigating ProQuest One Literature and Screen Studies Collection Louisa Vickers-Mills (Clarivate) Join me to discover the literature and screen resources your library has available to support your studies. I'll cover the content and show you some search tips and tricks to ensure you find the resources you need to complete your assignments. |
|
15:00-15:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Next Steps with Web of Science Valentin Bogorov (Clarivate) Boost your research with Clarivate’s Web of Science! Access comprehensive citation data and track your impact with ease. Enhance your scholarly work by discovering cutting-edge research, identifying key trends, and collaborating with global experts. Ace your literature review. Learn about the basics of research impact metrics and choose the best scholarly journals to publish your own work. |
|
15:00-15:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - Core Resources for Medical Education - ClinicalKey, Complete Anatomy, and Osmosis Nigel Ashworth & Jeffrey Reyes (Elsevier) ClinicalKey Student Foundations is a portfolio of digital textbooks that the UEA library has invested in for every medical student. It includes core titles such as Rang & Dales Pharmacology, Gray's Anatomy and Gray's Anatomy for Students, Guyton & Hall's Textbook of Medical Physiology, and Kumar & Clark's Clinical Medicine. Complete Anatomy is a 3D Anatomy platform that extends Anatomy practice beyond the dissection lab and Osmosis is an illustrated video platform covering the foundation sciences and clinical sciences. |
You can drop-in to talk to exhibitors between the times listed for each - no need to book, just turn up with questions or simply to learn more about their products. They will be at Library Floor 0, Space 2 and today we have:
|
Proquest Clarivate - 10:00-16:00 ProQuest is committed to empowering researchers and librarians around the world. The company’s portfolio of assets -- including content, technologies and deep expertise -- drives better research outcomes for users and greater efficiency for the libraries and organizations that serve them. |
|
Elsevier - 10:00-16:00 Elsevier is an academic publishing company specialising in scientific, technical, and medical content. Its products include journals such as The Lancet, Cell, the ScienceDirect collection of electronic journals, Trends, the Current Opinion series, the online citation database Scopus, the SciVal tool for measuring research performance, the ClinicalKey search engine for clinicians. |
You can attend any - and as many! - of the sessions running during Digital UEA as you'd like - no need to book, just come along and join us. Today we have:
|
10:00-12:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 2) - Free eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eMagazines with Norfolk Public Libraries Sign-up for access to borrow free eBooks, eAudio books and eMagazines from the public library. Members of the Norfolk County Council Library Service will be on hand to set-up your membership to the library service, and download the Libby app, giving you free access to a large collection of eBooks, eAudio books and eMagazines on Overdrive https://norfolk.overdrive.com/ as well as their print collections. Please also bring one form of proof of address. |
|
10:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Room 0.10) - Practical Presentation Workshop: Create a Quick Presentation with Mintel Doug Broadbent-Yale (Academic Librarian for ECO and NBS) and Kate Hatcher (Academic Librarian for Social Sciences) Come to this session to practice creating and giving a short presentation using Mintel, our marketing and consumer data resource. You will be shown how to use Mintel to research a topic and export content as pre-formatted PowerPoint slides. You will then work in small groups to create and present on a topic from our suggested list or one of your own choosing. This is a great opportunity to practice your public speaking in a safe, non-judgemental space, learn how to use a new resource, and have fun! Please bring a laptop or device if you have one. |
|
11:00-11:30 (Library Floor 0, Space 3) - UK Law and Policy Resources for Non-Law Students Kate Hatcher (Academic Librarian for Social Sciences) Law and policy is something that impacts all types of different study and research areas. From writing a crime novel to researching issues around, health, education, the environment and more, you are likely to touch on cases, legislation and policy. This session will give you an overview of the tools available to put these legal and policy documents at your fingertips. They are much easier to use than you might think! |
|
11:30-14:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 2) - UEA Safezone App UEA Security Team SafeZone is a free app for UEA students and staff to enhance your personal safety on campus UEA Security Team will be on hand to help you download and register for SafeZone, and get the most out of the app. |
|
12:00-13:00 (Library Floor 0, Space 1) - Improve your Job Applications and Interview Preparation Using Library databases Doug Broadbent-Yale (Academic Librarian for ECO and NBS) & Astra Richardson (Careers Adviser, Careers Centre) This practical session will improve your research skills so that you can create better job applications and have more to say in an interview. We will show you how to do in-depth research on companies you are planning to apply to and help you find sector information that will enhance your background knowledge of the area your prospective employer operates in. This is a perfect session for students who are planning to apply for jobs, internships or placements in the next few years (so almost everyone!). Please bring a laptop or device if you have one. |
You can drop-in to talk to exhibitors between the times listed for each - no need to book, just turn up with questions or simply to learn more about their products. They will be at Library Floor 0, Space 2 and today we have:
|
Norfolk Libraries - 10:00-12:00 Members of the Norfolk County Council Library Service will be on hand to set-up your membership to the library service, and download the Libby app, giving you free access to a large collection of eBooks, eAudio books and eMagazines on Overdrive https://norfolk.overdrive.com/ as well as their print collections. Please also bring one form of proof of address. |
|
SafeZone - 11:30-14:00 SafeZone is a free app for UEA students and staff to enhance your personal safety on campus UEA Security Team will be on hand to help you download and register for SafeZone, and get the most out of the app. |
|
|
