For the past few years, the Decolonise UEA Library collection has been steadily growing all thanks to the suggestions and contributions of our users.
We want to make sure the authors and works you've been adding to the collection are getting the attention they deserve. During the Digital UEA event (October 2024), the Library Anti-Racism group held a profile writing workshop to celebrate marginalised authors, artists and thinkers. The profiles our participants created are now on display throughout the library and online, highlighting where chosen titles can be found and encouraging other users to read them.
It's not too late to get involved - if you want to make a profile to highlight an author in the collection, you can fill in the form at the bottom of this page. If we don't yet hold any works by your chosen author, fill in our book suggestion form to let us know which titles you want us to purchase!
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Listed here are a few examples of databases which might provide useful academic source material for writing an author profile.
| Proquest One Literature (You will need to log in to your UEA account to access this resource) |
A subscription database designed to address absences in the Western literary canon (and dominant collections), provides a selection of diverse voices which are not well-represented by other collections. Searching for your chosen author “(as Subject)” may bring up an “Author Page” containing many key details about their life, work and career including links to primary works, criticism and full biography. |
| BlackPast |
A database dedicated to providing reliable information on the history of Black people across the globe, and especially in North America. |
| Black Women Radicals Database | A database dedicated to uplifting and centering Black women and gender expansive people’s radical political activism.
|
| Oxford Dictionary of National Biography |
A national biographic record, the OBND has made an effort in recent years to better represent the diversity of those who have shaped British history. Note: this resource only includes biographies of people who have died. |
| Wikipedia |
The collaborative, evolving nature of Wikipedia means that it is often more diverse and up-to-date than many traditional encyclopaedias. However, as an academic resource, it must be handled with care and references checked. |
If you're unable to join the workshop, you can submit a profile at any time by filling in the form embedded below or following this link
