Law

International law journal articles

When looking for international law journal articles,alongside using library search, the following platforms will be of use. 

• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) - HeinOnline If your project involves foreign law, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals provides citations to scholarly articles on foreign, comparative and international law from law journals around the world. Covers 1960 to present; fully searchable from 1985 to the present. For advice on using HeinOnline see the products dedicated user guide  

• Westlaw Legal Journals Index (LJI) is part of the Westlaw UK online service. It indexes articles from around 800 law journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe.

International legislation 

If you are researching EU or international law you will need to use the international and EU sections of the key legal databases to find cases and legislation outside of UK jurisdiction (please see the Legislation and Cases tab of this guide for training and advice on accessing and using these databases). You may also want to search across some of the alternative platforms and sources listed below. 

• Westlaw (Has a dedicated EU tab found at the top of the homepage and has a 'retained UK legislation' option in the main legislation drop down.) 
• Lexis Library (once you click into the Cases or legislation area on Lexis you will find an 'international content' option on the left of the search screen.) 
• European Union sources (a list of useful sources for studying EU topics) 
• EU Exit web archive 

• BIALL How Do I? wiki / Foreign legislation sources (pbworks.com)

• BIALL How Do I? wiki / European Union (pbworks.com)

• USA Federal Legislation (Direct link to the Congress.gov site)

International Arbitration 

• KluwerArbitration is the world's leading online resource for international arbitration research. It contains a wealth of commentary from expert authors, an extensive collection of primary source materials and exclusive materials including ICC cases and awards.
• Investment Arbitration Reporter  Alternate Name(s) IA Reporter. Investment Arbitration Reporter is a news & analysis service tracking international arbitrations between foreign investors and sovereign governments.
• Investor State Law Guide  ISLG is a powerful research tool for international investment law containing research articles, case law, decisions and awards.(Requires username and password for access to the resource on and off campus)

Oxford Bibliographies 

You have access to the Oxford Bibliographies International Law Bibliography 

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.