UEA Library: Computing Science: Home

Key resources for Computing Sciences

IEEE_XPLORE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full-text access to the worlds highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines within IEEEand IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985 are available in the library together with works published by affiliated organizations.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
When you first access the resource, choose "Not listed, Click here"
Register with your UEA email address and create a password.
Next time you visit, click on "Already a user? Click here"
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database of journal articles published by Elsevier.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the industry's most used business research database, providing full-text for more than 2,300 journals, including full-text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.

Computing Reviews
Reviews of articles & books
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
Online reference for computer science publications
Springer Lecture Notes in Computer series (LNCS)
Ebook collection of research papers

Cite them right This link opens in a new window
An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Additional resources

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.

British Computer Society
Referencing using BibTeX
Helpsheets from Imperial College London library

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from 18,000 sources. It includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics. All the source data is clearly marked and available, and the data can be downloaded in a variety of formats for use in your work.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains information suited to all levels of researcher, from undergraduates starting their first projects to senior academics. Content includes dictionary and encyclopaedia entries, book chapters, full books, journal articles, and the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (Little Green Books) and Qualitative Research Methods series (Little Blue Books).

Decolonising the library

Art by Leah Dorion

UEA library staff are working on a Decolonisation Guide.

You have probably heard calls to decolonise the curriculum and tackle racism within universities. Higher education in the UK has been shaped by its colonial past in ways that have led to inequality.

Decolonisation is a disruptive process which challenges these existing structures and assumptions and brings in a wider range of ideas and experiences.

Libraries should not be seen as neutral repositories of information or knowledge - they often reflect and reinforce colonial ideas. With your help we seek to change this.

Librarian (Computing Sciences)

Rachel Henderson

Email Me

Subjects: Chemistry, Computing Sciences, Engineering, Mathematics, Physics

When I am available

Working hours: Tues morning, Weds all day, Thurs morning

First Assignment

Got your first assignment and not sure where to begin? First assignment has been put together by the Library and Learning Enhancement Team, to support you when you come to tackle your first university assignment.

My reading lists

Check the reading list link in Blackboard, or search for the module code here

Computing Science: Home

Introduction