UEA Library: Physics: Home

Introduction

Welcome to UEA!

Most of our books and journals are digital, and require your username and password. Install Lean Library on your personal device to save logging in every time.. https://my.uea.ac.uk/library/using-the-library/digital-resources/off-campus-access

Do get in touch if you need help, you can email me.at rachel.henderson@uea.ac.uk Our digital resources are always available: see our Remote Access Guide for information on accessing our resources remotely. Keep a watch on the UEA Library Twitter feed for all the latest news.

Remember if you need help in writing an assignment take a look at our First Assignment and beyond study guide we have created with the Learning Enhancement Team.

Key resources for Physics

Institute of Physics publishing This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from the renowned scientific society, IOP
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It providesaccess to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications and links to original articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database of journal articles published by Elsevier.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities with links to full-text where available.
ArXiv.org - Physics eprints archive This link opens in a new window
ArXiv.org is an open access repository of full-text pre-print (before peer-review) and post-print (after peer-review) researcharticles in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings in all subjects with links to full-text where available. Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also Journal Citation Reports.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Scifinder provides access to the CAS databases: Chemical Abstracts, Registry and CASREACT. Search by chemical name, structure, formula or search for reactions, or references to journal articles by topic, author, etc.
Cite them right This link opens in a new window
An online referencing tool providing answers to common questions about referencing, as well as helpful guidance to keep you on the right track. Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter and other online publications. Referencing styles supported are Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver. Provides videos and tutorials and includes guidance on plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Additional resources

BibTeX referencing helpsheets from Imperial College London library
Spectroscopy Now
Portal dedicated to the spectroscopy community
Springer ebooks and journal articles
Springer produce a range of DRM-free digital editions of their research monographs, some are available to UEA staff and students

Decolonising the library

Art by Leah Dorion

UEA library staff are working on a Decolonisation Guide.

You have probably heard calls to decolonise the curriculum and tackle racism within universities. Higher education in the UK has been shaped by its colonial past in ways that have led to inequality.

Decolonisation is a disruptive process which challenges these existing structures and assumptions and brings in a wider range of ideas and experiences.

Libraries should not be seen as neutral repositories of information or knowledge - they often reflect and reinforce colonial ideas. With your help we seek to change this.