Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the UEA Library - or welcome back if you're returning. The Library building and digital library are open for business and we are looking forward to seeing you - face to face or virtually. For up-to-date information about Covid-related changes see the Library's Covid-19 FAQs.
The purpose of this guide is to highlight resources that will help you with your studies or research and to give you further support if you need it. Make sure you watch the short Welcome to your Library video, which provides a useful overview for new and returning students (some things have changed!)
Keep in touch - Library social media
Key resources for Media Studies
There are tens of thousands of books and journal articles related to media studies available via Library Search. Here are some other resources you may find useful.
Other resources for Media Studies
Search across hundreds of encyclopedias and other reference books.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Search across encyclopedias, dictionaries and other language resources.
Nexis Advance UK
Nexis is a database containing thousands of national and local news sources from around the world.
American History in Video
Key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage from 1900 to 2009.
Listener Historical Archive
Archive of this important weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Routledge Handbooks Online
E-book collections covering many fields, including Media & Communication.
Project MUSE Arts and Humanities Collection
Project MUSE provides access to full-textjournal articls in arts and humanities journals from scholarly publishers.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences - Covid-19 Temporary additional content
Collection of journal articles and other content. Note that JSTOR primarily contains older articles and that all these articles can also be found alongside more current articles via Library Search.
A vast collection of ebooks, with the ability to request ebooks not already held by UEA.
Cite them right
A referencing tool that provides assistance in how to reference in a range of different styles (including Harvard, APA, MHRA and MLA).
Librarian for AMA, HIS, LDC, IIH
Get some help
Drop-ins are now starting on Monday 28 September 12-1pm, with further times to be confirmed. We're still setting up a virtual space for these, so if you want to join the Monday drop-in please email me and I'll send out a link. And if this time won't work for you then let me know and I may be able to provide another slot.
Further online help
If you're new to the university or want a refresher, here are some great resources that will ensure you to get the most out of the UEA Library.
Study Toolkit includes videos, worksheets and guides covering all aspects of finding and using information for your studies.
Digital ToolKit provides help and guidance on tools, apps and software that will help you manage and organise your work.